A History of TV
with Mark Schubin of Sports Video Group
Mark Schubin
Who: Mark Schubin
From: Sports Video Group
What: A History of TV
When: July 30, 2020 7:00 PM
Sponsor: GoToWebinar

Thanks to our friends at SMPTE DC Section for inviting us to a virtual presentation o "A History of TV" with Mark Schubin on July 30th, 2020, 7:00 PM EDT.

Mark Schubin is a multiple-Emmy-Award-winning SMPTE Life Fellow and winner of the Society's Presidential Proclamation in 2017. His histories of media technology have been published in the SMPTE Motion Imaging Journal and the Proceedings of the IEEE, among other publications, and have been translated into many languages.

More about Mark Schubin:
The Over The Airia Broadcaster (Part I)
The Over The Airia Broadcaster (Part II)

Thomas Edison's earliest patent filing (a caveat) for motion pictures was in 1888, but 11 years earlier the first publication about television appeared, and there has not been a year since without television research. Yet there does not appear to have been any video research -- not even speculation or fantasy -- prior to 1877. Why? What role did the Washington area play in video development? Did people pay to watch remote baseball games live as early as 1884? Were the first patents for virtual video events like this one issued in 1895? Was there an actual live, watchable video image by 1879? Register to find out!

Thanks to event sponsors GoToWebinar® and Webinars Made Easy®

Meeting Attendees

Mr. Jan Andrews
Mr. William Bernstein
Mr. Ken Cardosa
Mr. David Carlstrom
Mr. Ed Damerel
Ms. Melissa Davis
Mr. Jacques de Suze
Ms. Mary Diaz
Mr. Gary Eickmeier
Mr. John Fleetwood
Mr. John Footen
Mr. Joel Goldberg
Mr. Tom Hackett
Mr. David Hadaway
Mr. John Hajinlian
Mr. Willy Halla
Mr. William Harrison
Mr. J. Eric Hoehn
Ms. Heidi Holmstrom
Sasha Javid
Mr. John Judge
Mr. William King
Mr. Jeffrey Koscho
Mr. John Kowalski
Mr. Steve Lack
Mr. Chris Lane
Mr. Edward Liberatore
Mr. Chuck Lindner
Mr. Donald Lockett
Mr. John McCoskey
Mr. Tom Mikkelsen
Mr. Macie Ochman
Mr. Skip Pizzi
Mr. Michael Riggs
Mr. Christopher Root
Mr. Tim Sawyer
Ms. Louise Shideler
Mr. Sidney Shumate
Mr. Rick Singer
Mr. Jake Skiba
Mr. Kenneth Sleeman
Mr. James Snyder
Mr. Jonathan Solomon
Mr. Alan Southwick
Mr. Rudy Sultana
Pat Thorpe
Mr. Eric Utter
Mr. Tu Vu
Mr. Bruce Wahl
Mr. David Weinberg
Mr. Charlie Weller
Mr. Peter Wharton
Mr. Philip Whitebloom
Mr. Raymond Wilke
Mr. Fred Willard
Mr. Kevin Willoughby
Mr. Alan Wu
Mr. Steve Wynn