For many SBE members, the local chapter provides access to affordable continuing education and a ready network of contacts and friends in the industry. The SBE recognizes chapters that meet those needs by rewarding them with an annual rebate of a portion of the SBE dues paid by its members. The chapters have to qualify for the rebate by holding at least five meetings during the calendar year and documenting those meetings to the national SBE office. Documentation includes a brief description of the meeting and a list of attendees.

In 2021, 54 chapters qualified for Quality Chapter status, and the SBE paid out a total of almost $28,000 to them. Chapters typically use the money to fund their own operations. Expenses can include website hosting fees, printing, postage, scholarship programs, and sometimes meals for chapter meetings or social events. The SBE instituted the rebate system many years ago to help chapters avoid the administrative burden of collecting local dues, instead, allowing them to concentrate on producing successful meetings and other chapter functions. Below is a list of chapters that attained Quality Chapter status during 2021 and received a cash rebate from the national SBE office in June of this year. Our congratulations to them and to their leadership!


Chapter Chair
1 Binghamton Gary Talkiewicz
2 Northeastern Pennsylvania Al Kornak
3 Kansas Richard Abraham
9 Phoenix Eric Schecter
14 Connecticut Valley Frederick Krampits
15 New York City Conrad Trautmann
16 Seattle Alexander Brewster
17 Minneapolis Jon Blomstrand
21 Spokane Jerry Olson
22 Central New York Thomas McNicholl
24 Madison Matthew Mommaerts
25 Indianapolis Chuck Kelly
30 South Bend Jakob Foglesong
33 Southwestern Ohio James Stitt
37 District of Columbia J. Eric Hoehn
38 El Paso Jose Castro
39 Tampa Bay Area Edwin Allen
40 San Francisco Arthur Lebermann
43 Sacramento Jack Davis
45 Charlotte Brad Humphries
47 Los Angeles Matthew Anderson
48 Denver Amanda Hopp
51 Tri-Cities John Mazza
52 Central Ohio John Owen
53 South Florida Carlos Sanchez
55 St. Louis Terrence Dupuis
56 Tulsa Donald Dobbs
57 Rochester Gregory Carter
58 Northeast Scott Mason
59 Kansas City Stephen Hendrix
67 North Texas William Ryan
68 Birmingham Tim Costley
69 Alamo Area Christopher Anderson
70 Northeast Ohio Blake Thompson
72 New Orleans Ernest Kain
74 Midland Mark Voris
76 Eugene Dennis Hunt
78 Blue Ridge Robert Whitley
80 Fox Valley Martin Jury
85 Central Western Brian Ryel
91 Central Michigan Richard Thomas II
93 Raleigh-Durham Frederick Engel
96 Rockford Ben Pflederer
102 Grand Rapids Mark Wittkoski
103 Nashville James Campbell, III
109 Des Moines Gregg Richwine
111 Huntsville Kevin Kidd
113 Knoxville Robert Holden
115 Southern Idaho Thomas Kettwig
122 Youngstown Wesley Boyd
124 North Oregon Everett Helm
131 Inland Empire Robert Army, Jr.
141 Medford David Katz
145 Magic Valley Thomas Lowther

The post 54 SBE Chapters Earn Quality Chapter Status for 2021 appeared first on The Society of Broadcast Engineers.