A slate of candidates for the upcoming SBE election has been assembled. The SBE Nominations Committee, chaired by SBE Immediate Past President Wayne Pecena, CPBE, 8-VSB, ATSC2, AMD, DRB, CBNE, provided a list of candidates, and one floor nomination has been received. Additional floor nominations will be accepted until June 30.

The slate of candidates:

Ted Hand, CPBE, 8-VSB, AMD, ATSC3, DRB
Charlotte, NC
Vice President
Kevin Trueblood, CBRE, CBNT
Estero, FL
Jason Ornellas, CBRE *
Sacramento, CA
Geary Morrill, CPBE, AMD, CBNE
Saginaw, MI


Isaiah Chavez, CBT, CBNT; Largo, FL
Terry Douds, CPBE; Lancaster, OH
Brad Humphries, CBT; York, SC
Zhulieta Ibisheva, CBTE; Honolulu, HI *
Jeff Juniet, CBTE; Casselberry, FL *
Charles “Ched” Keiler, CPBE, 8-VSB, CBNE; Pompano Beach, FL *
Brian Oliger, CBT, CBNE; Haymarket, VA
David Ratener, CPBE, CBNT; Kent, WA *
Christian Vang; Smyrna, GA
Jeff Welton, CBRE; East Chester, NS
Dan Whealy, CBTE; Waterloo, IA *

Incumbents are noted with *.

As per the SBE by-laws, the proposed slate of officers and directors will be sent to all chapter chairs not less than 60 days prior to the election date (August 15), with a request for additional nominations. All candidates for officer or director, whether proposed by the Nominations Committee or nominated by a voting member, shall meet the candidacy requirements no later than 45 days prior to the election date.

To be eligible, the individual must be a member in good standing and hold an SBE engineering-level certification throughout the election and elected term. Any voting member in good standing, by letter to the SBE secretary, not less than 45 days prior to the election date, may propose and nominate a candidate, and the name of any eligible candidate so proposed by ten members or more shall be entered on the ballot.

The post Candidate Slate Announced for 2023 SBE Elections appeared first on The Society of Broadcast Engineers.