SBE Law Update
with Coe Ramsey, Noah Hock, and Patrick Cross
Brooks Pierce Logo
SCMS Inc. Logo

Virtual Zoom Meeting - Register Here

Our meeting will be held virtually.  Please Register Here in advance for this meeting.  After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing instructions for joining the meeting. To learn about Zoom, please see this tutorial.

  • We typically open the meeting 30 minutes prior to the scheduled meeting time to give everyone time to mingle and visit, begin Chapter 37 business at the scheduled meeting time, and introduce our guest speakers shortly thereafter.
  • To save valuable time when we have large attendance, we have omitted the opportunity for attendees to introduce themselves.  (Sorry, it just takes too long.)  Instead, please feel free to add your affiliation to your name in Zoom and say "Hello" via Zoom's chat function.
  • Please note that Chapter 37 meetings are recorded.  If you prefer not being recorded, please disable your camera and mute your audio.
  • Please Register Here!
Coe Ramsey, Noah Hock, & Patrick Cross
Who: Coe Ramsey, Noah Hock, and Patrick Cross
What: SBE Law Update
When: April 11, 2023 at 6:30 PM
Where: Virtual Zoom Meeting - Register Here
Sponsor: SCMS

The SBE is an advocate for its members on regulatory and legislative issues at the FCC, NTIA, Capitol Hill, and beyond that affect broadcast engineers.  The Society's focus on these issues is driven by the SBE Board, Government Relations Committee, Regulatory Counsel, as well as interested members like you.

Our April meeting will introduce SBE's Regulatory Counsel team consisting of Coe Ramsey, Noah Hock, and Patrick Cross of Brooks, Pierce, McLendon, Humphrey & Leonard, LLP (Brooks Pierce).  Brooks Pierce is a Raleigh, NC based law firm that serves businesses, government, non-profit institutions, trade associations and individuals.  As outlined below, The Regulatory Counsel team is highly experienced with broadcast technical regulatory issues.  We anticipate discussing SBE's current legislative issues.

Coe Ramsey’s communications and media practice focuses on FCC regulatory, transactional, corporate and intellectual property (copyright and trademark) matters. Coe represents radio and television operators throughout the country, counseling and advocating on a variety of issues, including buying and selling radio and television stations, FCC ownership rules and policies, ATSC 3.0, digital broadcasting, and other new technology deployments, broadcast licensing and renewals, programming issues, cable and satellite carriage, political advertising, and music licensing.

Noah Hock represents clients in entertainment, nonprofit, and media law matters. In addition to his legal practice, Noah is an active classical musician performing with the Winston-Salem Symphony and other regional orchestras. Noah uses his passion for music to represent musicians, artists, record producers, filmmakers, writers and publishers in a variety of arts-related matters. He also assists nonprofit organizations and media companies of all sizes with every aspect of their management and operation.

Patrick Cross counsels media and broadcasting clients of all sizes on a myriad of issues involving FCC regulatory compliance, FCC enforcement matters, programming, technical matters, and ownership issues. He also represents broadcasters and individuals in resolving intellectual property disputes both outside of and in state and federal courts.  Patrick represents media and broadcasting companies and radio and television stations in resolving issues regarding FCC regulatory compliance, FCC enforcement matters, licensing, technical matters, and a variety of other issues.

Special thanks to sponsor Jim Peck of SCMS for sponsoring the video conference and other technical support costs of Chapter 37. 

Meeting Video:

Meeting Attendees

Allen Kass
Barry Mishkind
William Swartz
BIlly Harrison
Charles Weller
Coe Ramsey
David Layer
Daniel Ryson
Eric Hoehn
Fred Willard
George Molnar
Greg Strickland
Jim Welch
John Kean
John Garziglia
Maciej Ochman
Patrick Cross
Raymond Wilke
James O'Neal
Willy Halla