Alternative Broadcast Inspection Program
with Tom Ray of Tom Ray Broadcast Consulting, LLC
Broadcasters General Store
Tom Ray
Who: Tom Ray
From: Tom Ray Broadcast Consulting, LLC
What: Alternative Broadcast Inspection Program
When: June 14, 2022 at 6:30 PM
Sponsor: Broadcasters General Store

Our June meeting focused on the Alternative Broadcast Inspection Program - what is it, why it's a good idea, what stations typically miss, and what we look for. Our guest speaker, Tom Ray of Tom Ray Broadcast Consulting, LLC has been conducting ABIP's for 9 years now, starting with the New York State Broadcaster's Association and now doing ABIP's for Maryland, Delaware, DC, Virginia, North Carolina and Iowa.  Tom has pretty much seen it all over the past 9 years, and, in addition to a lot of good information, regaled with a story or two of some nightmares he's encountered, not necessarily in small markets.  Please see the presentation (here) for the details.

Thomas R. Ray, III, CPBE, AMD, DRB, is a 45 year Broadcast Veteran.  He started his career at WDRC AM/FM in Hartford, CT, spent time as Chief Engineer of WTIC AM/FM in Hartford, CT, and spent 16 years as VP/Director of Engineering of Buckley Broadcasting and Chief Engineer of WOR Radio, New York City.  He served 6 terms on the Board of Directors of The Society of Broadcast Engineers, had the first high powered full time AM HD Radio facility in the world (WOR), installed the first large scale Axia system in the US, literally wrote the book on HD Radio installation for the SBE, served on the Board of Directors of the New Jersey Broadcaster's Association, and, when iHeart bought WOR, started Tom Ray Broadcast Consulting, LLC which does contract Engineering work, equipment installations, ABIP inspections for the Broadcasters Associations of New York, Maryland, Delaware, DC, Virginia, North Carolina and Iowa. 


Meeting Video:

Meeting Attendees

Mr. Chris Babendreier
Mr. Rob Bertrand
Mr. Darrell Cheney
Mr. Jeff Elliott
Mr. Richard Fleeson
Mr. Joseph Fleming
Mr. Steve Floyd
Mr. Mike Friedman
Mr. Andrew Gunn
Mr. William Harrison
Mr. J. Eric Hoehn
Mr. Steve Jackson
Mr. Michael Kluger
Mr. Marshall Malmberg
Mr. Barry Mishkind
Mr. Thomas Ray III
Mr. Michael Rhodes
D'Annette Roy
Mr. Tim Sawyer
Mr. Thomas Shedlick
Mr. Sidney Shumate
Ms. Leslie Stimson
Mr. Jim Welch
Mr. Charlie Weller
Mr. George White
Mr. Raymond Wilke
Mr. Fred Willard
Mr. Kelly Williams