Burden Associates Logo
Who: Richard W. Burden
From: Burden Associates
What: FM Stereo: The History of the Making of a Standard
When: June 1, 2021 at 6:30 PM
Sponsor: Broadcast Depot

Since FM stereo broadcasting has existed for virtually all of our adult lives, some may take it for granted.  However, that would never happen to Richard W. Burden, one of the pioneering engineers instrumental in bringing stereophonic FM to the public.  Richard Burden was our June 1st guest speaker.  

According to broadcast historians, the first FCC-approved stereo broadcasts began at WGFM Schenectady, NY and WEFM Chicago, IL on June 1st, 1961 at 12:01 AM local time.  We are held our meeting exactly 60-years later to commemorate this event.  Though the milestone dates are important, the process of establishing the worldwide FM stereo standard is far more interesting and began much earlier.  Richard participated in this endeavor and prepared his first-hand experiences.  

Richard Burden, Principal of Burden Associates, has been a broadcast engineer for over 70 years.  In addition to his efforts with FM Stereo, he is known as the father of the Travelers Information Service, which provides information to motorists at airports, highways, national parks and communities. Richard is a Fellow in the Society of Broadcast Engineers and has been honored by the Society with the Lifetime Achievement Award.  He is a Fellow in the Audio Engineering Society (AES), which honored him as one of the 25 internationally known engineers who contributed significantly to the science of audio. 

With widespread interest in this topic, particularly in central New York; Chicago, and Pittsburgh, PA, we invited SBE members in those and other regions to join us via Zoom.  We also invited the Washington, DC SMPTE and AES sections. 

As you can see by the long list of attendees, we had a superb turnout.  What isn't apparent is the wide range of geographies represented at our local meeting.  We welcomed attendees from SBE chapters 1, 9, 15, 18, 20, 22, 26, 33, 37, 46, 47, 54, 57, 58, 60, 67, 96, and 99 - as well as members of AES and SMPTE.  It was great to acquaint ourselves with new friends and see many old friends.  We hope you'll join us at a future meeting.    

Special thanks to Broadcasters Depot for sponsoring the video conference and other technical support costs of Chapter 37.

Meeting Attendees

Mr. Mark Albert
Mr. Jan Andrews
Mr. Robert Ballou
Mr. Fred Baumgartner
Mr. Michael Baxter
Mr. Patrick Berger
Mr. Michael Berry
Mr. Chase Browning
Mr. Richard Burden
Mr. Tim Carroll
Mr. Gordon Carter
Mr. Richard Cassidy
Mr. Jonathan Charry
Mr. Rob Cristarella
Mr. John Devecka
Mr. Michael Dinger
Mr. Steve Floyd
Mr. Scott Fybush
Mr. David Garner
Mr. Richard Garofalo
Mr. Fred Gleason
Mr. Mike Graves
Mr. David Gray
Mr. Jon Grrubbs
Mr. Karl Hansen
Mr. Dustin Hapli
Mr. Gary Harrison
Mr. William Harrison
Mr. Gary Hartman
Mr. Eric Heidendahl
Mr. J. Eric Hoehn
Mr. Kenneth Hunold
Mr. Spike Jones
Mr. Robert Jordan
Mr. John Kean
Mr. Paul Keller
Mr. Al Kenyon
Mr. Fred Klimes
Mr. Michael Kluger
Mr. George Kowal
Mr. Kent Kramer
Mr. David Layer
Mr. Kent Lewin
Mr. Chuck Lindner
Mr. Vinny Lopez
Mr. Dave Loudin
Mr. Bill Magliocco
Mr. Marshall Malmberg
Mr. Scott Mason
Mr. Brad McCoy
Mr. Greg Miller
Mr. Stuart Moore
Mr. Jon Morgan
Mr. Horace Murray
Mr. Jim Nelson
Mr. James O'Neal
Mr. Larry Paulausky
Jan Pazral
Mr. Wayne Pecena
Mr. Jim Peck
Mr. Kerry Plackmeyer
Mr. James Pratt
Mr. Daniel Ryson
Mr. Eric Schecter
Ms. Mary Schnelle
Mr. Thomas Shedlick
Mr. Michael Shovan
Mr. Jonathan Solomon
Mr. Johnny Stigler
Mr. Carl Swanson
Mr. Brian Szewczyk
Mr. Robert Tarsio
Mr. Bob Van Valzah
Mr. David Weaver
Mr. Jim Welch
Mr. Doug White
Mr. Fred Willard