Goddard Space Flight Center (Visitor Center) - Register Here

8800 Greenbelt Road
Greenbelt, MD 20771 United States

Directions: Goddard Space Flight Center Visitor Center. Directions here.

Parking: There is plenty of parking located outside the base gate; therefore no security entrance issues.

Johnny Lowe
Who: John Lowe
From: National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
What: NBS/NIST Radio Station WWV – The Story of an Old Timer
When: November 9, 2022 at 6:00 PM
Where: Goddard Space Flight Center (Visitor Center) - Register Here
Address: 8800 Greenbelt Road
Greenbelt, MD 20771 United States

Sponsors: Goddard Amateur Radio Club (GARC) , DC SMPTE , and Advocates in Manpower Management, Inc. (AIMM)

John Lowe, who served as Broadcast Manager for the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) radio stations WWV, WWVH and WWVB in Colorado and Hawaii, will present a program on the history and operation of these very unusual — and very essential — shortwave and low frequency radio broadcast services. In his presentation "NBS/NIST Radio Station WWV - The Story of an Old Timer" Lowe will provide a history of the WWV operation, along with other stories and information about this "ground zero" source for ensuring the accuracy of the nation’s clocks and all other devices requiring a stable and highly-accurate reference source.

Lowe recently retired after a 34-year career with the Time and Frequency Division of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and its precursor organization, the Nation Bureau of Standards (NBS) in Boulder, Colorado. He initially served in the organization's Atomic Standards Group, where it participated in constructing the National Frequency Reference (NIST-7). Lowe was awarded the Department of Commerce's Gold Medal for his efforts in connection with this initiative. He was assigned to head up NIST's Time and Frequency Services in 1995 and served in this position until his retirement in 2019. He served as Broadcast Manager for NIST radio stations, WWV, WWVH and WWVB, overseeing their operation, maintenance and enhancements. Lowe now serves NIST as Scientist Emeritus, representing that organization in several national and international bodies. He holds a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from the University of Missouri at Kansas City, and a masters in electrical engineering from the University of Colorado.

Sponsored by the Goddard Amateur Radio Club, DC SMPTE, and SBE Chapter 37.

Light dinner will be served (sponsored by AIMM).

The Goddard Space Flight Center Visitors Center building was the literal location of the WWV transmitter for approximately 35 years, until the mid 1960s. The building pre dates the opening of the Space Flight Center.

The Visitors Center will be open with docents on duty for technical information on exhibits from 6 pm to 9 pm. So plan to come early and check out the latest fascinating Earth Science displays and the outdoor rocket garden. Doors open at 6 pm. Organization business and a few introductory words starting at 6:30 pm in the auditorium. Program starts at 7 pm. Special thanks to the GARC and NASA Goddard for manning the visitors center for this event. This will be an official Goddard public affairs event listed in their weekly announcement magazine. Exhibits will stay open until 9 pm for those that want to peruse after Johnny's presentation.

Plenty of parking. Visitors Center is located outside the base gate; no security entrance issues.

We ask you to Register Here in order to judge amount of food needed to bring. SBE or SMPTE membership not required. Just interest in the technology, RF transmission, timing, amateur radio, or technical history.

This will be the first in person evening SBE 37 meeting in almost three years. Will also be simulcast virtually on zoom with the SBE "OWL" camera.

Meeting Video:

Meeting Attendees

John Fleetwood
Horace Murray
Ralph Bowe
Stephen Cappello
Kishore Persaud
Clarence Johnson
Adriane Faust
Angela Albrecht
Blake Lorenz
Christopher Wilde
David Weaver
David Kolesar
David Layer
Edward Kim
Ed McCauley
Ed Grogan
George Kinney
Grafton Kennedy
Heidi Holmstrom
Les Robinson
Mark Bailey
Mary Collins
michael burroughs
Mike Rhodes
Sabrina Delgado Arias
Scott Ritz
James Snyder
Sergio Signorini
Steve Towne
Vladimir Tchompalov
Eric Hoehn
George White
John Kosian
Scott Fybush
Andrew O'Neal
Andrew Protigal
Bud Aiello
Larry Catron
Charles Weller
Daniel Wilt
Greg Miller
Howard Sherer
Joseph Fleming
Kent Kramer
William King
Michael Chesnes
Michael Kluger
Pamela O'Neal
Raymond Wilke
Chuck Lindner
Robert Ballou
Robert Candey
Tom Hackett
Karen Carothers
Vanessa Thomas
Gene Smar
Brian Haywood
Chris Meaney
David Eltzroth
David Smith
Don Perese
Frank Donovan
Fred Willard
James O'Neal