WHCP 91.7 FM
SCMS Inc. Logo

Virtual Zoom Meeting - Register Here

Our meeting will be held virtually.  Please Register Here in advance for this meeting.  After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing instructions for joining the meeting. To learn about Zoom, please see this tutorial.

  • We typically open the meeting 30 minutes prior to the scheduled meeting time to give everyone time to mingle and visit, begin Chapter 37 business at the scheduled meeting time, and introduce our guest speakers shortly thereafter.
  • To save valuable time when we have large attendance, we have omitted the opportunity for attendees to introduce themselves.  (Sorry, it just takes too long.)  Instead, please feel free to add your affiliation to your name in Zoom and say "Hello" via Zoom's chat function.
  • Please note that Chapter 37 meetings are recorded.  If you prefer not being recorded, please disable your camera and mute your audio.
  • Please Register Here!
Mike Starling
Who: Mike Starling
From: WHCP Radio
What: Why Phil Rice and Anita Longley Still Rule the Airwaves – Modern NCE-FM Licensing Comparative Criteria
When: January 9, 2024 at 6:30 PM
Where: Virtual Zoom Meeting - Register Here
Sponsor: Jim Peck of SCMS

Mike Starling, President and General Manager for WHCP Radio, will give a presentation on how he led a revived nonprofit to win a frequency allocation from the FCC to become WHCP 91.7 FM, a full power non commercial station licensed to Trappe, MD and serving from Easton to Salisbury. He spent 25 years at National Public Radio serving as Chief Technology Officer, Vice President, and Executive Director of the Technology Research Center and NPR Labs.

He was the founding station manager for WKYY in Amherst, Virginia and co-founder of nearby stations at Sweet Briar College and Lynchburg College and the founder of WHCP-LP in Cambridge, the predecessor to the new 91.7 - WHCP-FM.  Mike is a past Vice President of the North American Broadcasters Association, where he also chaired the Technical Committee.  He was co-founder and counsel to the Association of Public Radio Engineers, Inc.

Special thanks to sponsor Jim Peck of SCMS for sponsoring the video conference and other technical support costs of Chapter 37.  We look forward to (virtually) seeing you soon!


Meeting Video:

Meeting Attendees

James Butler
Barry Mishkind
Bob Jenkins
Bryan Shaw
Carl Swanson
Dean Vaccher
Eric Hoehn
Fred Willard
Imants Strautin
Jonathan Charry
Jim Peck
Leslie Stimson
Michelle Bradley
Mark Clarke
Mike Starling
Horace Murray
Pat Malley
Robert Ballou
Richard Fleeson
Richard Cassidy
Steve Densmore
William Harrison
William Magliocco